A Woman’s Worth

A woman’s worth dwells within a puddle of tears, and hides behind scars, visible and internal, from years of abuse, physical and mental, because she dared to defy the status quo. She dared to love outside her circle, she dared to hope for a better today, she dared to believe that goodness would prevail, and she dared to dream beyond her reality.

She retreated to solitude, where she allowed her mind to wander in deep and dangerous waters. As truth unfolded, her weathered hands created art she never knew she could create, and words she never thought she would write. In the still of night, she hungered for peace of mind, but instead succumbed to the notion that she has never truly been appreciated – Not by him, not by them, but most importantly not by her.

Tired.

She was so very tired of fighting. Perhaps, she truly is nothing more than what others see. Perhaps, she should have surrendered to the depression that plagued her mind.

A flicker of hope, masked as defiance, lit her darkest hours and erupted outward in brilliant revelation.

YOU ARE SO MUCH MORE, CAN’T YOU SEE!

WAKE UP!

YOU MADE THIS PAINTING OUT OF PINE CONES, PAINT AND DIRT!

a woman's worth

A woman’s worth, my worth, perhaps is not meant to be seen, understood or appreciated by anyone else but me.

So, I will continue to create for myself, and to hell with the rest of you; the doubters, the bullies and the non-believers!  Because in the end, when it is all said and done, I could care less what you think of me. Because I know my worth, after all, I made this painting out of pine cones, paint and dirt.

I will create!

I will be me!

I will create!

I will be free!

S.D.

 

3 Comments

Filed under A day in a life posts, Journey to Fortune & Fame

3 responses to “A Woman’s Worth

  1. You don’t owe anyone anything, unless you want to give somebody something. It’s your decision entirely. That’s freedom of choice, which is our birthright. What we create remains ours. We’re too busy making our mark to care what others think. However, art this creative is worth something, and if shown, as it is being shown, gets seen and whether we care or not, appreciated. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

