Summer Splash Book Blog Tour-Week 9

Well, here we are, winding down with the last author interview of the tour. It has been a great summer for getting to know other indie authors from near and far. Next week’s post will be arecap of the authors we have met, what I have learned from their insights, another peek at their work, and  their links. Until then, why don’t we meet our last author and see what insights she has to share about being an Indie Author.  

anna“Anna is a bubbly fairy princess from a small country town far, far away. Raised around rednecks and obsessively muddy trucks, she was faced with a strange need to fill empty paper with words. So she decided she might as well write stories. With the help of her friendly mice and other neighborhood animals, she has worked very hard to make this hobby a profession, and hopes to make the world a bright and colorful place through her works.

Anna discovers new stories in between slaying dragons and leading the children of her realm on a musical revolt against normality.”

Anna’s Insights on Writing 
How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing professionally since 2013. I published my first written work (The Rooftops of London) on New Year’s Day, 2014!

What genre do you write in?

I like to cross borders, but my favorite is Steampunk: A science fiction genre based on the late 1800s. It’s a lot of fun, and offers many opportunities for original thought.

Do you hand-write or use a laptop/PC when creating.

Oh, all of the above! I’ve found that some thoughts flow better in different formats, and jump between writing mediums regularly.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

I enjoy creating worlds, and exposing characters. I like being able to tackle real issues and life struggles in a way that people can understand and empathize with.

Do you have a favorite time of day to write?

I don’t currently. My personal schedule has been shifting a lot over the last year, and I haven’t found a good rhythm yet.

Do you have a planned schedule for writing?

Oh not at all. Haha! I really do try to be consistent, but there’s not much rhyme or reason behind my productivity.

Do you have any advice to share about writing?

I’ve found that writing is a skill that is always growing, always improving. Make sure you always have someone to look up to, and don’t forget the authors that have impacted you so far. It’s good to know where you came from and where you’re going.

Anna’s Insights on Character Building

How in depth are you when you create your characters e.g.; background stories, favorite foods, genealogy?

Oh goodness. I tend to overthink everything to the Nth degree! Even my side characters have complex backstories that explain why they are the way they are. The difficult part is straining out which pieces are important to the current story or not!

Who is your favorite character to write for e.g.; protagonist, villain, sidekick etc.

I have always been more about the balance of team members than any one individual. The Xmen were always my favorite heroes, because it wasn’t just any one person that was important. Everyone contributed, everyone mattered. My favorite part is finding diverse and quirky characters and figuring out how they all interact. That’s the best.

When creating your characters what influences attribute to their make-up e.g.; past experiences with real people, political and or religious views, your perspective on what makes a good protagonist, villain and/or sidekick.

A little of everything probably. The brain is constantly taking in information, analyzing and cross referencing everything to make sense in the end.

Most of my characters explore socio-emotional matters; grief, love, hate, abuse and neglect, etc. And such experiences are often a result of what’s happening around me. I know that Return to Masonry started out as an exposé of abuse cycles and self-worth, but ended up also exploring grief and loss; I lost someone very dear to me while I was writing it, and having to work through that definitely affected the story- And writing the story affected me in return.

Do you have a favorite character that you have created, and why is she/he/it your favorite?

My favorite so far is Alanor, from Return to Masonry. She’s the one that has been farthest out of my own comfort zone- and the one most unique from my own experiences- and very much became her own person. She was a challenge to write, and I think, I hope, that she was expressed in a way people can understand. She overcame some amazing trials to become the person she is.

If you could be any character from your book/s who would it be and why?

Ohh, tough question! Probably… Captain Ithaca Vain, of The Trivial Venture series. She’s feisty and classy and almost fearless.

In a short paragraph tell us about your book. If it is a series tell us about each book.

annas-pic-1My current upcoming is A Risky Gamble: Book Two of the Trivial Venture, another fast paced, swashbuckling adventure high above the Vashtain Empire. We’re catching up with Captain Ithaca, who is having pirate troubles; convincing people she’s a fearsome pirate, trouble being waylaid by pirates. Any pirate trouble you can think of, she’s definitely in it. But with the help of her odd but reliable crew, they just might find a bounty worth taking! And solving some other mysteries along the way.

It will be releasing this August to all major ebook distributors.

Thank you Anna for joining me today, I wish you the best of luck with your writing. Please provide our readers with your contact information and links to your work.

Absolutely! You can find me at www.annakringle.blogspot.com, or send me a note to AnnaKtheAuthor@outlook.com!

I also hang out on Facebook and Twitter:

www.facebook.com/annatheauthor

www.twitter.com/EverdayPrincess

Leave a comment

Filed under A day in a life posts, Journey to Fortune & Fame

Leave a Reply

