Summer Splash Book Blog Tour – Week 7

Well, here we are in week 7 of the tour, and we are going south of the border again. This time we visit an author from Rhode Island. Until this book blog tour, I had no idea that it wasn’t actually an Island. It is amazing the things that you learn, when you are open to meeting new people from faraway places.Let’s meet our author.

D.R. PerryD.R. Perry lives in Rhode Island, where all her books are set. Although she’s not a native New Englander, once up north she got so inspired she couldn’t leave. A wild Northern Muse attacked. D.R. used Typing; it was Super Effective.

D.R. writes all kinds of things. Mostly, they have strange and unusual elements. Not strange isotopes or Strontium or anything like that, but creatures who are people or people who are creatures. Beware of the Attack Poetry and rampant puns. Keep off the grass, or the song parodies may bite.

She lives with her husband, daughter, and dog in the Ocean State, which she loves to remind people is not an island and not Long Island. D.R. is well aware that her home state has both of those things, but isn’t defined by them. Maybe she likes it here so much because it reminds her that she’s also more than the sum of her parts.

D.R. hopes you have as much fun reading her books as she did writing them.

D.R’s Insights on Writing

How long have you been writing?

Ever since I could make words, I’ve been writing them. I used to make my own stories up whenever I ran out of books to read.

What genre do you write in?

Right now, I’ve been writing humorous Paranormal. It’s campy and fun, with some mysterious and dangerous turns. I also plan to write some sci-fi, also humorous. 

Do you hand-write or use a laptop/PC when creating?

I only take notes by hand. Otherwise, it’s all typing. I lose things and it’s nearly impossible to misplace a big computer tower, so that’s nice. I once left a notebook in the freezer.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

This is going to sound a little selfish, but I love that I get the story first. After that, it’s the revisions. Adding things on, making little touches. 

Do you have a favorite time of day to write? 

Coffee o’clock! And it’s always coffee time somewhere. But seriously, any time I can.

Do you have a planned schedule for writing?

I schedule blocks of time but snatch extra. Usually, I have at least two hours a day. Sometimes, I stay up late for those hours and other times I get up at zero dark thirty in the morning.

Do you have any advice to share about writing?

Everyone should try it at least once. It’s a momentum activity. 

D.R.’s Insights on Character Building

How in depth are you when you create your characters?

Sometimes, it’s a name and a basic height and coloring description, others I have a whole picture of their lives before I start. The one common thread is they all grow the more I write about them. 

When creating your characters what influences attribute to their make-up?

Sometimes, I go in planning to have a character with a sense of humor like one of my old friends. Other times, I’m editing and saying to myself, “this is like that one time, at theater camp…”

D.R. Perry 2

D.R.’s Insights on Publishing, Promotion and Merchandising

Do you have E-books and/or hardcopies?

I publish both ebooks and paperbacks. I haven’t gotten hardcover versions done yet, though. 

In a short paragraph tell us about your book. If it is a series tell us about each book. 

D.R. Book cover 2D.R. book cover 1D.R. book cover 3I have a series called Providence Paranormal College. It takes place at a school in Rhode Island for magical and supernatural people. There will be ten books, each focusing on a different pair of characters as they become targets for the person trying to sabotage the school. 

What is up next for you? 

I have book 5 coming out at the end of July. It’s one book a month in the Providence Paranormal College series. They’ll all be finished by December. I’ll be at Rhode Island Comicon this November, and the Rhode Island Author Expo in December. 

Thank you D.R. for joining me today. I really like the titles of your books, they are so clever. Wishing you the best of luck with your writing. Please provide our readers with your contact information and links to your work.

Website: http://www.drperryauthor.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/drpperry/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DRPerry22

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8588997.D_R_Perry

Author Central: http://www.amazon.com/author/drperry

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Journey to Fortune & Fame

Leave a Reply

