Summer Splash Book Blog Tour- Week 3

WELCOME! WELCOME! WELCOME one and all to the best ride in town. It’s free all day long and the stories are ever revolving. That’s right, step up, step up, don’t be shy, climb aboard and let’s meet the next author on the Summer Splash Book Blog Tour, Ashley Nestler ! 

Ashley

Ashley Nestler (A.M. Nestler) is a published author. Her first novel, “Beautiful Nightmare: Some Dreams Become Your Reality”, was published when she was eighteen. “Into The Fog” was released when she was nineteen.  She is currently working on a secret third novel that will be released by April next year, and writes under the genres of young adult, epic fantasy, historical fiction, and literary fiction. She is also a big part of the indie author movement and is the owner/creator of the Go Indie Now! Bibliotherapy Box, as well as a book reviewer and an educator on the publishing experience – both indie and mainstream. She currently lives in Colorado and is going to school for social work.

We’ve gone south of the border this week to find a kindred spirit and like mind thinker. Like last weeks interview with Kristan L Cannon, I asked Ashley several questions on writing, character development and publishing. I wanted to see if her insights were any different than Kristan’s. Read on and see if indie authors south of the border do things differently than their cousins to the north. 

Ashley’s insights on Writing 

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing my entire life.  I don’t remember a time where I wasn’t writing.  I am positive that I was born to write, because when I don’t write I don’t feel complete

What genre do you write in?

I write in just about every genre, but currently I have books published in YA Dystopian, and Epic Fantasy/Historical Fiction with a Contemporary Literary Fiction due for release soon.

Do you hand-write or use a laptop/PC when creating.

I personally love handwriting.  I love the feel of a pen when it writes on paper, and I don’t think there is a better feeling than being able to write whenever I want in a notebook.  They are portable, and full of magic themselves.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

What I enjoy most about writing is being able to create worlds and characters.  I like having something that is just my own, and using the worlds I create as an escape keeps me grounded.  Having imagination is power, and that is what I love most about writing.

Do you have a favorite time of day to write?

Honestly, I don’t pick a certain time of day to write.  I just write whenever the inspiration hits.  I have found that by not pushing myself to write at a certain time, I avoid writer’s block.  The only time that I do push myself is during NaNoWriMo, and when I am doing that I mostly write late at night.

Do you have any advice to share about writing?

My advice for writing is to write every day and don’t write for anyone else.  Sometimes I work with authors who want to write just so that they can become published, but the best way to be successful is to write for yourself for the fun of it.  Also, don’t worry if you think that your writing isn’t good enough.  Always believe in yourself the most and you will go far.

Ashley’s insights on Character Building

How in depth are you when you create your characters e.g.; background stories, favorite foods, genealogy?

I am very in depth when creating my characters.  I think that it is very important to know everything about your characters, and that is one of the most important things that I learned from a publisher that I worked with when I was 17.  You want your characters to pop off of the page, and for that to happen you need to know everything about them.

Who is your favorite character to write for e.g.; protagonist, villain, sidekick etc.

I love writing about villain characters, because I get to play around outside of my own element.  I was always a “goody goody” so writing villains lets me live a little.  I also adore making their backstories

When creating your characters what influences attribute to their make-up e.g.; past experiences with real people, political and or religious views, your perspective on what makes a good protagonist, villain and/or sidekick.

Backstories are the biggest factors that make up my characters.  I think that everyone is changed from their experiences, and that is what I mainly work with in my writing.

Do you have a favorite character that you have created, and why is she/he/it your favorite?

My favorite character is Lamia Hecate in “Into The Fog”.  She is a villain, with a very dark backstory.  I like her because she doesn’t care what people think, and she does whatever she wants.  Below is a fan art of her that a reader made for me:

Ashley's character

Do you have any advice to share about character development?

My advice is to create character profile sheet for each different character.  This way you can have all of their information down on paper, and won’t have any inconsistencies in your story.  Don’t get your characteristics of your characters mixed up that is a dangerous thing.

Ashley’s insights on Publishing 

Are you a self-published author or are you represented by a traditional publisher?

I am a self-published/indie author.

If you are a self-published author who did you publish/print your books with e.g.; print on demand company or through a local printer.

I was first published by the indie publisher, Strategic Book Rights and Publishing Agency, but currently I enjoy self-publishing through Createspace.  I love having control over my publishing experience and my writing.

Do you have E-books and/or hard-copies?

All of my books are available in paperback or e-books.  I personally prefer paperback, but e-books are cheaper and great for carrying many books around at once!

Do you have any advice to share on publishing?

My biggest advice for publishing, is to ask for help when you need it.  Many times when author’s self-publish they become overwhelmed and lose passion for their writing.  Don’t lose your passion!  There are so many resources out there to help you, and I am one of them.  I went through the publishing experience completely by myself, and I don’t want anyone to have to go through that.  That is why I assist writers in publishing one on one and through my blog.

Ashley, thank you for your insights and sharing your story with us. Please share a short blurb about the books you have written.

Ashley's book cover 1

Book Title(s): Into The Fog: Death is Just the Beginning/ Beautiful Nightmare: Some Dreams Become Your Reality

Into The Fog Blurb: “A murder, a choice, and an eternal destiny. Welcome to the untold story of sixteenth century England.

Darielle couldn’t be happier and more in love with her fiancé, Prince Tarum, until the eve of their wedding announcement when Tarum is murdered. Following the tragedy, Darielle is thrown into a life filled with despair as strangers enter the Tower and change her way of life. However, she begins to find herself drawn to Harlisisle, the new guard for Queen Estelle. Something about him makes her feel as though she has known him before. This attraction ends up unraveling past events in her life that she had long forgotten, and she soon discovers the true circumstances surrounding Tarum’s murder. The truth makes her question the love that she once had for people that she thought she knew.

‘Into The Fog’ is a roller coaster ride of historical romance and fantasy elements that will keep you on the edge of your seat and asking only one question:

‘What if death isn’t an ending, but a beginning?'”

 

ashley's book cover 2Beautiful Nightmare Blurb:

What if the one you love is only present in your dreams?

In the dystopian town of Lunamoon, everything is structured.  Humans are created by science and everyone is programmed to follow certain regulations; but one girl, Shawneleigh, never lived up to the Council’s regulations.  Shawneleigh has the disorder of narcolepsy, a disorder that causes her to fall asleep at random times without warning.  Because of her illness, the Council banned her to life in a hospital since she cannot be counted on fulfill other duties.

Lunamoonians all receive prophecies for their lives through dreams that the Dream Maker sends to them, but Shawneleigh hadn’t received a dream in years until she found herself falling into a dream during her sleeping spells.  It is during these spells that she meets a man named August who claims to be the Dream Maker himself.  He also lives in solitude outside of Lunamoon, and they begin to form a bond; however, Shawneleigh cannot control when she falls asleep, and soon August finds a way to manipulate her illness.  The only problem is that when he manipulates her sleeping disorder, she continues to grow sicker.  But no matter how hard they try, they can’t stay away from one another.

“Beautiful Nightmare: Some Dreams Become Your Reality” is novel about love, life, and the importance of those who care about you.  Love, above all else, is the best thing that we have to give.

Thank you Ashley for visiting with me today. I wish you great success with all your endeavors. Please provide our readers with your contact information.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amnestler/?ref=bookmarks

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7089809.Ashley_Marie_Nestler

Blog: https://peachykeenbookreviews.wordpress.com/

Go Indie Now! Bibliotherapy Box: https://goindienow.cratejoy.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under A day in a life posts, Journey to Fortune & Fame

Leave a Reply

